Viva Mexico (Part 2)

When we left off yesterday I was in Mexico with the boy enjoying a wonderful, relaxing, much-needed vacation. In planning the trip I knew that I wanted to go somewhere that had a pool and a beach where I could lay around and do nothing. What I didn’t realize is that I’m not good at sitting around doing nothing. Sure, I get in the occasional slump with my workouts, but I always feel better when I’m moving. I think I get it from my dad. Any time we’ve gone on a beach vacation he is not able to sit still. Turns out, I’m not good at it either. The good news is, I wasn’t alone. The boy was more than happy to not stay on the resort or just sit by the pool.

On Tuesday morning we got up, had breakfast and then headed to Cozumel for the day. Cozumel was just a quick 25 minute ferry ride from Playa del Carmen. When we arrived we met a couple who happened to be staying at our same resort. They had been to Cozumel before and recommended we rent a vespa for the day to see the island. Boy were they right! I’ll admit I was completely out of my comfort zone on the vespa, and was sure at one point that we were going to get hit by one of the many crazy drivers on the road. The good news is that after we were about a mile out-of-town there was a separate road for bikes and vespas. I had confidence that we were going to be fine, because the boy owns a motorcycle. I swore I would never get on one, and after riding the vespa I still never will. The good news is we survived.

During our ride we stopped at a little bar along the way to lunch and look what I found, a terrible towel.

Steelers in Mexico

I felt right at home! After a pit stop we continued to cruise the island. The views of the ocean were incredible The sky was bright blue and the water was incredible shades of blue and green.

A view from the top

For lunch we ate at a little bar at the top of a hill/cliff. The views were also incredible

Lunch view in Cozumel

After a wonderful day at Cozumel it was time to head back to the resort and enjoy a relaxing evening

Cozumel

After a crazy exhausting, but fun day at Cozumel I felt like I could give the whole sit at the pool or beach a try. The resort didn’t have a real beach, but they had this area with sand, some ocean and lounge chairs & beach beds. It was pretty!

Beach day at the resortI took my iPad with me to read. I was good for part of the day and then started to get antsy. Good news was we ended up meeting two women who were sister’s who had just arrived to the resort. We were having so much fun that the boy and I invited them along for dinner. We had a blast!

Me and Laurie Zack and Julie

On Thursday the boy went diving for the day. I hung out at the “beach” for a little before meeting up with the sister’s and the couple we hung out with in Cozumel. It was a great day of hanging out in the sun. Later that night was spent enjoying dinner and a few drinks with friends.

On Friday we hung out by the pool and met some really sweet people from England. We spent the day hanging and drinking with them and had a blast. It really was a good day! I couldn’t believe our trip was almost coming to an end. I was so bummed. I could easily stay for another week, but was also ready to come back to Austin (not work, but my own bed).

Saturday I did something that I had been wanting to do for years – swim with dolphins! Which, I think this a great place to stop. I’ll share pictures of my last day on vacation and my final thoughts on my wonderful vacation!

One thought on “Viva Mexico (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

